Fatty pork, yuck!

It was bound to happen sooner or later, but I wanted some of the summer before I got noticed. A couple of nights ago I was sitting quietly in my van at my favorite spot and had just finished an intensely emotional day trying to get some thoughts through to Brandi. As usual I came off as forceful which isn’t ever my intension going to in to these kinds if conversations. So needless to say I was a little rattled, and ready to drift off to sleep. So I get my blanket ready and as I’m packing a bowl I see a sheriff’s car roll by, flash on it’s spotlight, and shine it on the cars parked along the road while he drove by. I watched as he drove away but was left feeling a bit uneasy after this, when suddenly he flipped around and started coming back. “Here we fucking go..” I mumbled, or maybe just say internally. I put the grinder and weed in the pouch of the back seat as the cop pulled up behind me and turned off his headlights. So many thoughts were racing through my mind of the many different possible outcomes of the events that were about to take place. Before he fully stopped I very slowly and carefully got under my blanket thinking I would hide from him under a pile of blankets so it wouldn’t look like a person sleeping. Under the blanket I waited not knowing what to expect when all of the sudden “FUCK!” I think, “I left the damn pipe out on the bed ok the back.” I slowly reach my hand out to grab the pipe to try to BAM BAM BAM, the sound of the metal flashlight hitting my van, then it starts shaking. I continue to lay still hoping to go unnoticed, while my heart is about to jump out of my chest. Around the edges of my blanket mountain I can see little glimpses of light from his flashlight as he try’s to look in or movement while I held completely motionless. Then all of the sudden the van starts shaking and again BAM BAM BAM BAM BAM, he’s banging on the van again. So I start thinking back to when I was told to just talk to the cops and explain what I’m doing, and to remain calm and respectful, and I decide to give that a try instead of having to deal with fighting a ticket. So I scoot out of bed in my underwear and a T-shirt to answer the door, blinded by the flashlight he is shining through my window into my face. I opened the door and he asked me for my license and asked me if I was living in my vehicle to which I respond that I am, and as I am explaining my situation I look him over and notice that he is an out of shape older cop who probably couldn’t hold up to much action. Through conversation i found out it was his first night back on the night shift in a while, which put it all together and helped me to understand why he decided to mess with me, he was bored, and not fit for action. He threatens to take my weed and cite me, and then gets a call over the radio for a drunk driver, so he explains it is illegal to sleep in your vehicle in he city of Encinitas, throws my license on my seat and let’s me go with no punishment. This was pretty disappointing seeing as how this was my favorite spot to sleep with the sounds of the ocean, and now I’ll have to wait a while to go back.

Just wanted to share my first police interaction from the van. Till next time!

Leave a Reply

